Posted by: boromax | April 19, 2024

Willie Nelson

Image compiled by me from various sources

. . . . .

I confess up front

I was never a particular fan of

Willie Nelson.

My uppity self thought his voice was too nasally to listen to for very long, so I never honed in on his music and his stylings.

I heard about him a lot, cuz everybody knows Willie Nelson, right?

Liked a couple of his songs – Always On My Mind, On The Road Again.

Other than that… meh.

Then, enter the conjunction of a couple of fortuitous and momentous events:

my son’s 46th birthday and a Willie Nelson concert in the town in which we live.

Yes. I got my son a ticket to the concert for his birthday.

And, who wants to go to a concert all by oneself?

So, I bought a ticket for me to accompany him.

And I am I ever glad I did.

Wow.

Willie Nelson.

Soon to be 91 years old (on April 29).

Seventy-seven solo albums under his belt.

Sixty-eight years in the music business.

He is amazing.

I am now a fan, Willie.

Wow.

Some pics from the event:

Taken soon after our arrival at about 5:45 pm.

. . . . .

The sun is almost set, around 8:15 pm. We are listening to and watching Tyler Childress at this point.

. . . . .

And then the sun was finally beyond the horizon. Whew!

. . . . .

The catwalk from the restaurant to the stage, and one of the jumbo screens that helped us all see what was going on on stage. Thank you!

. . . . .

Still Tyler Childress, who was quite enjoyable, btw.

. . . . .

A cowboy and his girl on the catwalk, watching the sunset together.

. . . . .

The only almost decent photo I got of Willie – by zooming in on the jumbo screen right above the stage.

. . . . .

Understandably, there were thousands of people at this concert.

The crowd between us and the stage.

. . . . .

The crowd behind us.

. . . . .


Responses

  1. His voice is very nasal, he sounds like he’s from the northeast… 🤭 I don’t care for country music one little bit…

    • LOL. Country music is not my favorite genre; but there are artists and songs in that genre that I enjoy. My stock answer to questions about what kind of music I like was ‘everything except screechy opera, twangy country, and filthy rap.’ ;)

      • Rap is not music. It is “noise”. 👍🏻😂

  2. […] Willie Nelson […]

    • Thank you, Ned. ~Ed.

  3. I’m glad y’all got to go to the concert! We’ve seen a couple of them with Willie Nelson, but it was years ago. I like his songs, and he has been an excellent entertainer over the years. 🙂

  4. A wonderful conversion

  5. On his old albums and TV appearances, he’s clean-shaven and has short hair and wears Nudie suits…


Leave a comment

Categories