Posted by: boromax | April 17, 2024

Nostalgic Dip – 1974, Part Four

Image by me

. . . . .

PART FOUR

Below are the fourth group of five songs for this series from the US Billboard Hot 100 chart for 1974.

The songs’ positions on the chart are indicated below. You may notice some numbers missing. There are reasons for that; and there are reviews of the missing songs HERE.

. . . . .

This time around we start with Paul McCartney and Wings playing their hit Band On The Run. This song made it to #1 on the Billboard Hot 100 in 1974; and it was on the annual chart at #22. Read more about this song HERE.

. . . . .

Next is a country cross-over hit called The Most Beautiful Girl by Charlie Rich. This song climbed all the way to #1 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. It was on the year-end chart at #23. Find out more about this popular song HERE.

. . . . .

Third on this list is the beautiful, timeless (!) ballad by Jim Croce, Time In A Bottle. This lovely song spent some time at #1 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart; and it appeared on the annual chart at #24. See more information about this song HERE.

. . . . .

Next on our list is another beautiful John Denver song, Annie’s Song. This song made it to #1 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart; and was listed as #25 on the annual chart. Read more about this song HERE.

. . . . .

The last song on this list is Olivia Newton-John’s Let Me Be There. This song (surprisingly, IMO) only made it to #6 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart; but it was listed on the annual chart at #26. See more about this song HERE.

. . . . .

Please comment with your opinions about these tunes!

‘Til next time…

. . . . .


Responses

  1. All awesome selections. I feel like a teenager again. Gotta go pop some zits now.

    • LOL! Do it vicariously with Dr. Pimple Popper (a real thing. look it up on YT). ~Ed.

      • That’s just nuts! I suppose a buck is a buck, though.

      • Ha! Yeah, that’s true.

  2. I’m not exactly mad about the ol’ silver fox but he sure had a lot of fans, so he must have been doing something right.
    My sister really loved time in a bottle. I was more into Rapid Roy the Stock Car Boy.
    Olivia was so cute I hardly noticed her voice.
    Band on the Run is one of those songs I will wait in the driveway for the end.
    Then there’s John By God Denver. Annie’s Song spoke to my heart, to the part of me that wished and hoped for love, for someone to fill up my senses. It took a while in coming but the wait was totally worth it.

    • Great comments, Kenny! Annie’s Song is one of my favorites. It is in my personal repertoire (as a singer).

      • Mine too.

  3. These songs were all favorites in ’74, which was a pretty significant year to me.

    • Me, too. My first year of marriage! Traveled from New Mexico to Georgia for work; then from Georgia to Oregon for school.

  4. As I think you know, this was the decade in which I couldn’t listen to music. Of this splendid collection, John Denver I like best, and Olivia marginally least

    • No, I must have missed those stories about the ’70s being musicless. Are they in your blog archives? This John Denver song is among my all-time favorites (which, admittedly, is a long list). And, yes, I was always on the fence regarding Olivia Newton-John.

  5. Denver, from those choices.


Leave a comment

Categories